[SOLVED] Potentiometer tuning - wrong range of values

Discussion in 'Calibration, Help, and Troubleshooting' started by Attila, May 13, 2016.

  1. Attila

    Attila Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally I reached to the tuning of the potentiometers for the steppers, but I get really different values when measuring them as you see on the image.

    What can be the problem, where to check?




    Disclaimer: I'm noob at this area ;-) but trying to do my best.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Miasmictruth

    Miasmictruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    112
    I cant see from the photo but presumably you have a black wire plugged into the terminal the black probe is on yes?

    300px-Meter_black.jpg


    Do you other drivers all read 0 too?

    Also I think you may want to look at where the dial is on the volt meter, try the 2.
    Finally where are the leads plugged into the volt meter? If your not familiar with using one can you take a picture of it.
     
  3. Miasmictruth

    Miasmictruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    112
    Oh also, you can test the volt meter by putting on the red probe on the red wire next to the black, it should read 24V (or really close to it) as I think that is right off the power supply.
     
  4. Attila

    Attila Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I'm putting the black to the black point as you posted.

    I did the test with red-black and it shows on both left pairs 0.83 when the multimeter is set to DCV and 20 (2 decimals).

    I assume that is a totally bogus value of somehow....but that 0.83 is stable.

    I've a CEM DT-3900 multimeter and it was never used before. :-S
     
  5. Miasmictruth

    Miasmictruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    112
    If you are not reading 24V you may bigger issues, I would start with checking the power supply. Check the other pair of red and black wires, it should be I identical

    Is the LCD lighting up?
     
    Attila likes this.
  6. Attila

    Attila Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is identical, 0.83. too. Now getting another multimeter, since I measured a AAA battery and it shows weird numbers ;-)
     
  7. Attila

    Attila Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was lucky, the electrician guy was still in the building and we measured with his multi meter, 24V came up, so I tuned all the drivers into the given range, so problem solved, I just need to get a good multi meter. It is the better I think ;-)

    Thanks Miasmictruth for helping me out!
     
  8. Miasmictruth

    Miasmictruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    112
    No problem :) I wonder whats with the meter
     
  9. Attila

    Attila Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh it goes back to warranty. I hope I don't have to measure anything else during the weekend :-D
     
  10. Miasmictruth

    Miasmictruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    112
    lol I don't think so for the big box at least just to set the steppers.

    On the other hand if you break a wire you might use it to check continuity or something, but it may still be able to preform that function.
     
  11. Tom De Bie

    Tom De Bie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    33
    Did you try new batteries for the multimeter? ;)
     

Share This Page