Some auto parts

Discussion in 'Show off' started by K3LAG, Apr 3, 2016.

1. K3LAG

K3LAG Active Member

I bought my BigBox to print some parts for the car I've been building for the last 2 1/2 years.

Here are a few.

Center High Mount Stop Light:

IMG_1125 copy.jpg

This is printed with Hatchbox orange and transparent red ABS. If you look closely you can see the 12 LEDs inserted in square cutouts. The LEDs are installed and wired from the back then a back cover glued into place.

Center Console Faceplate:

This is the faceplate for the center console. I had originally planned to print this as one piece on my BigBox but the final design ended up a little too large so I printed it as several pieces and acetone welded them together. Ultimately it will get sanded, filled, primed and painted to match the dash of the car. It looks just like a flat plate in the photo so I included an image of the model.

IMG_1117.JPG

Screen Shot 2016-04-03 at 6.36.29 PM.png

There are various other 3D printed parts on the car, but they are small brackets, spacers and the likeHere is a picture of the car as of last Friday night. It goes off to body work and paint in about two weeks and then it will be done:

IMG_0088.jpg

2. Henry feldman

Henry feldman Well-Known Member

looks really professional. Nice job...

3. K3LAG

K3LAG Active Member

Installed the brake light this evening.

image.jpeg image.jpeg

4. Miasmictruth

Miasmictruth Well-Known Member

Any pictures of what you started with? Looks good :)

5. Henry feldman

Henry feldman Well-Known Member

@K3LAG what's your workflow? Do you start with a base CAD model from the manufacturer's part or just measure and design from scratch. I only ask, because I have to do a taillight for our car (not quite as cool - Honda odyssey) when a panel got lots somehow.

6. K3LAG

K3LAG Active Member