stepper potentiometers not tuning

Discussion in 'Calibration, Help, and Troubleshooting' started by MJ Farley, Apr 15, 2016.

  1. MJ Farley

    MJ Farley Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    So, I'm having trouble getting the potentiometers to tune properly... I'm using an Etek 10709 multimeter on the battery setting and when testing the potentiometers they top out at 0.50 and when I try to increase them, the multimeter shows 0.00

    Any help is appreciated...
     
  2. Greg Holloway

    Greg Holloway Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    397
    Can you explain what you mean by the battery setting?
     
  3. Dr Jeep

    Dr Jeep Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    169
    Battery settings apply a load (you need a load on a battery to test it properly) and that will cause incorrect measurements on those drivers.

    Why are you using it on battery test mode ? That meter has a 2v range which is fine for what you are doing here.
     
    MJ Farley likes this.
  4. MJ Farley

    MJ Farley Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm using the multimeter on the 9V DC setting (which they have marked as a Battery setting on the multimeter)... I took some pictures to show you what I mean, but now it is topping out at .34 and then just showing -0.00 when I try to increase it... I tested the multimeter on a 1.5V battery and it is working fine, so I don't know what is wrong...

    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/mog1s27vw9pp6ph/AAB-3nvvk_RrGpQ2eE8Za6y3a?dl=0
     
  5. R Design

    R Design Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    183
    I think you want to put it on the "2" setting which is in about the 10 o'clock position on your multimeter dial.

    That should be the 0-2v DC range.
     
    MJ Farley likes this.
  6. mike01hu

    mike01hu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    166
    R Design is right. You must use the 2V setting, the Battery positions are used for testing batteries and definitely should not be used.
     
    MJ Farley likes this.
  7. Henry feldman

    Henry feldman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    389
    Yeah you need to be in V (top left quadrant of the dial)
     
  8. MJ Farley

    MJ Farley Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks everyone... that seems to have been the problem... I thought that section was only for AC measurements... now, I know it works for both with the push of a button...
     
    mike01hu likes this.

Share This Page