Thinking of building a Dual BigBox

Discussion in 'BigBox General Chat' started by Bo Herrmannsen, Dec 2, 2018.

1. Bo Herrmannsen

Bo Herrmannsen Active Member

So over the last few weeks i have been building up a model of the dual Bigbox

this is for several reasons, but mostly to get familiar with the printer and to see if anything in the build guide is missing and if i can figure out the missing parts myself

So far the only missing bit is the IEC(mains) cover, its only there as an STL, no stp/step file for it
    and when importing the 123D files to fusion its not there either

I know its just eyecandy effect but a cad model of the PT100 Amp's would be a welcome add to the model along with a model for the 60mm fan

BUT the most important thing is the heated bed, i cant find that in the e3d shop, yes there are the new mains powered beds, and even thou i'm a trained electrician others might want to use my model and build a machine and use a 24V version

what are the options for a bed?

i have looked through the mods and i could not find a dual titan x-carriage mount so i have build what should be the hybrid version, i just assume that the differences are minimal and i can save the model under a new name

not completely done so its no rush for me

2. jfb

jfb Well-Known Member

Well, you could probably try something like this https://www.amazon.co.uk/MK2A-Heat-Bed-300x200-mm/dp/B01NBEX91J or maybe get a silicone heater made to your specifications by any number of places advertising on Aliexpress - and many of those have off the shelf parts that may suit you https://www.aliexpress.com/w/wholesale-heated-bed-300x200.html There are a few 300x200 beds either 12v or 24v available on ebay as well as Amazon and places like AliExpress etc - I can't honestly say how good any of them are.