Unable to extrude PLA via stepper or by hand

Discussion in 'E3D-v6 and Lite6' started by LeChuck71, Jun 5, 2014.

1. LeChuck71

LeChuck71 Member

Hello everyone,

I am completely new to the 3D printing business so I tried to stay with the best known parts for my printer.
    Nothing fancy just an improved Prusa i3 most parts are ordered from the cheapest seller.

With the hotend I wanted to be on the safe side and ordered a "E3D-V5 3mm Direct 0.4 nozzle" ... and unfortunately this part is the only one that troubles me ;)

Yesterday I tried to print for the first time, start-up was fine, extruder started pushing filament and then a rattle and nothing came out. OK I stopped and remembered that some people said it should extrude if you push the PLA by hand ... which is completely impossible.

Here are some data
    E3D-V5 3mm Direct 0.4 nozzle
    Dutch White PLA 3mm 190-200°C recommended Temperature
    Temp in Repetier 200-210
    Marlin thermistor settings "5"
    PID autotune done
    Hotend assembled as shown in video
    Fan directly attached to 12V, blowing constantly on the heatsink

At the moment I am completely lost. I don't know if my temp is too high ore too low or even correct. If I heat up the hotend for some minutes and pull out the PLA its just melted a little bit a the tip, which looks far for extrude consistency or even oozing.

I tried and pressed some PLA outside close to the heater and it got kind of liquid after some seconds but I am not sure if that's a normal behavior. I enclosed some pictures of the PLA tip, hotend and nozzle. I did a "cold pull" and thats the result - temp was according to PC about 120°C

I am thankfull for any advice or help to get my hottend "oozing" ;)

Cheers
    Axel

UPDATE: