Updating Firmware through PI

Discussion in 'Build Help' started by TstarkEngineering, Nov 6, 2016.

  1. TstarkEngineering

    TstarkEngineering Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    120
    Up to stage of build of powering on the machine, I would like to update the firmware but have yet to do so on a machine with PI.

    Can someone link me or provide the process to updating the firmware without using a USB. (Im used to plugging it in the uploading RCX) Now Im not even sure how to access the machine itself.

    Thanks
     
  2. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    Alex Stevenson likes this.
  3. Dr Jeep

    Dr Jeep Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    169
    Of course nothing stops you from unplugging the USB lead from the rumba board and plugging in a laptop via the trapdoor, it's how I generally do mine.
     
    Alex Stevenson likes this.
  4. TstarkEngineering

    TstarkEngineering Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    120
    So whats the trick to creating a hex file to upload through xloader. I need to change the steps of everything, and I am not using the wheel to go from 1600 to 400....

    Im used to opening up marlin and just exporting it to the board.
     
  5. Dr Jeep

    Dr Jeep Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    169
    newer versions of the arduino suite have an option, on the sketch menu I think "export compiled binary". However the "correct" way is to change it in a fork in git in your own github account and then change the plugin to source the code from there.
     
  6. Dr Jeep

    Dr Jeep Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    169
    double check the board options are right first (you won't benefit from some of the checks if you export binaries from arduino rather than uploading them)
     

Share This Page