Volcano vs. regular V6?

Discussion in 'Volcano' started by mandras, Oct 30, 2015.

1. mandras

mandras Member

Hi,

I'm new to 3D printing and I understand from all those internet sites and videos just how great Volcano is and how fast and strong you can make your prints. Now what I'm not getting is why the longer melt zone is bad for regular printing as we're used to, possible with a V6 hot-end. Why is there no 0.25mm nozzle for Volcano, what are the drawbacks compared to a V6 with a 0.25mm nozzle?

Also, has anyone actually ever printed with Volcano AND a traditional hot-end in the same print? I read ideas such as a smooth surface with small nozzle and a strong structure inside with Volcano, but has anyone ever actually done something like this?

2. Sanjay

Sanjay Administrator
    Staff Member

Polymers do not like being held at their melt temperature for long periods of time, they begin to degrade and depolymerise giving off gasses and losing their important material properties.

If a 0.25mm nozzle was used on a Volcano system then because of the much reduced rate of flow when using a 0.25mm nozzle the filament would be held at high temperature in the long melt zone for a much much longer time than when using the larger 0.40+mm nozzles.

I have done a little with larger nozzles for infill and smaller for external perimeters at lower layer heights. Although it sounds great in theory much of the benefits don't really materialise in reality. Print time isn't massively reduced, the large layers and the small layers don't interact perfectly and quality is lost, as well as the issue of oozing from the larger nozzle which is sitting idle for a long time while while the smaller nozzle does it's work. It's also a real PITA to set up on a slicer.