What am I doing wrong?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by wHack, Sep 13, 2019.

1. wHack

wHack Well-Known Member

I have my machine built and I decided to print some test cubes to check the acceleration and jerk. I printed this one https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:277394. It came out terrible but with artifacts I didn't expect. I printed one on each tool and they all came out the same. I don't know what to do from here as I don't know what could cause this, so I came here to see if anyone could point me in the right direction.

Here are some pics: IMG_1005-2.jpg IMG_1006-2.jpg IMG_1007-2.jpg IMG_1008-2.jpg

2. Spoon Unit

Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

Looks like an extrusion issue. Things to check:

• Good filament
    • Retraction settings, if using them
    • Pressure advance, if using it
    • Collets and clips at tube interfaces (tool and titan)
    • Free running of spool

3. Amr

Amr Well-Known Member

I am by no means an expert but the artifacts on both prints are in the exact same locations and look Identical, extrusion issues would be more random in my experience. I would look for cables that are short or something that is snagging like pulling on the cables, or stopping/pushing the hot end in its tracks, very odd behavior I must say.I would re-slice this file again as well.

4. wHack

wHack Well-Known Member

The spool was free.
    I was not using pressure advance yet.
    I re-did the collets and clips on one tool and got the same results.
    The filament is quite old. I have new e3D PLA arriving Monday.
    The gcode was bad it had no retractions but had un-retractions. So... freak slicing error.

I re-sliced with firmware retractions using
    M207 S4 F3000 Z0.5
    for retractions and things where much improved but still bad in weird ways.
    IMG_1009-2.jpg