Wiring, general electricals and earthing

Discussion in 'Motion System' started by yngndrw, Jan 1, 2020.

1. yngndrw

yngndrw Well-Known Member

Background

I am not a qualified electrician nor do I work in the electrical profession - I'm a software engineer. My dad is however an electrical engineer and when I were younger I used to help him build electrical control panels, some of which controlled 30kW three-phase motors. This included both reviewing the drawings and wiring the actual panels. (Except for the high current cables, I simply wasn't strong enough to loop a 30mm^2 wire through a current transformer!) Needless to say my advice here is offered "as is" and without warranty or liability. I've given you information about my qualifications and experience so that you can make an informed decision on whether or not to follow my advice.

General Wiring

High current connections should be crimped and not soldered, especially when there is vibration or movement in the wires.

Pliers are not crimpers and the flat tools with a simple crushing end are not crimpers. The only type of crimpers you should be using for the red, yellow and blue connectors are ratchet crimpers. After crimping a connector on a wire, give it a good pull - If it can't take a decent tug, you should re-do it.

Red crimps are for 0.5mm^2 to 1.5mm^2 wire, blue crimps are for 1.5mm^2 to 2.5mm^2 wire and yellow crimps are for 4mm^2 to 6mm^2 wire. Always use the correct coloured crimp for your wire size.

Bootlace ferrule crimps should be used for screw terminals rather than bare or tinned wire - Again use the correct ratchet crimper and not pilers. These are also useful where you need to connect two wires into the power supply, where two ring crimps may not fit.