Wiring (Re-wiring)

Discussion in 'Guides, Mods, and Upgrades' started by Syko_Symatic, Dec 13, 2016.

1. Syko_Symatic

Syko_Symatic Well-Known Member

Afternoon All,

I am going to be re-wiring my extruders to make them quick release using the molex adapted "cartridge" (http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1645740) . I was wondering what the best suited AWG is and whether I could use the same for all the wires? As far as I am aware 22AWG should be suitable but I am no expert! Can anyone with a little more knowledge confirm/suggest?

2. Ephemeris

Ephemeris Well-Known Member

Syko_Symatic likes this.
  3. Syko_Symatic

Wow! I got a tiny bit excited about those mods! The nut height was one I had made myself as it had caused me a headache. Love the wire clamp/guide that is a beautiful touch. Did you change any of the wiring at all or use all the originals?

@Ephemeris Any advice on crimping those tiny terminals? I have done a few but am pretty hit and miss, I use a proper crimping tool but it's a nightmare!

#3 Syko_Symatic, Dec 13, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2016
  4. Ephemeris

Syko_Symatic likes this.
  5. Syko_Symatic

Took your advice and ordered one from the UK version of the site (RS Components) although at £31 it was a heavy hit to take!

6. Ephemeris

Attached Files:

Stefan likes this.
  7. Syko_Symatic

@Ephemeris Any issues with the wires? I have my new bundles ready for my duet switch over and all are 22AWG. I just can't shake this feeling that it should be thicker?! Is yours fine?

8. Ephemeris

22 gauge stranded has a resistance of about 55 ohms per kilometer (55 milliohms per meter). Your cable runs are about 1.5 meters so call it 80 milliohms in each direction for a total of 160 milliohms. That's a pretty low resistance except possibly for the hot-end heater.