y axis leveling issue

Discussion in 'Calibration, Help, and Troubleshooting' started by hammy, Sep 22, 2016.

1. hammy

hammy Well-Known Member

When the printer goes to the back of the printer to level it doesn't stop just bumps the back of the printer and I have to turn it off. I did a reset on the rumba and went through all the steps of commissioning again to no avail. Any suggestions? If I can fix this my printer will work and boy do I want to start using it.

2. W1EBR.Gene

W1EBR.Gene Well-Known Member

The print carriage should move toward the front of the printer when homing, not the rear. I don't know if this would be the cause, but check to see if you plugged the y axis motor into the Rumba board correctly.

3. hammy

hammy Well-Known Member

no no the homing finishes and works fine but when it does the leveling it starts at the front and checks the 2 points then when it moves to the back of the printer it bumps the back instead of stopping.

4. Kanedias

Kanedias Well-Known Member

Could you have the x and y stops mixed up? Which firmware are you using?

5. W1EBR.Gene

After running "Auto home" go to "prepare>move axis>1mm>y axis" and see if the reported position if the actual nozzle location. The check whether moving 10mm or so using the control know actually moves the y axis by that amount. I think that information will help you in the search for your answer.

6. hammy

hammy Well-Known Member

if I had the x and y endstops messed up wouldn't it have a issue trying to auto home?

7. Kanedias

When you autohome it just goes as far as it can till it reaches the end stops on each axis, that's all. That'll be the front left corner. If they were switched it means it thinks you have a 200 wide by 300 deep bed. Which might explain the behaviour you're seeing.

or the bed dimensions and home position could be wrong in the firmware, which is why I wondered which one you've installed.

8. hammy

hammy Well-Known Member