y-axis scraping walls

Discussion in 'Build Help' started by hammy, Aug 12, 2016.

  1. hammy

    hammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    When I move the printer on the y-axis the sides scrape the walls. How do I fix this?
     
  2. Stian Indal Haugseth

    Stian Indal Haugseth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    95
    What scrapes where. Photos and mark the point that touches.
     
  3. mike01hu

    mike01hu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    166
    Did you ream the Y carriage holes for the X rods with an 8mm drill as this may be due to not having the X rods fully home in their holes. I suggest you go through the X and Y axis commissioning again as well.
     
  4. hammy

    hammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    oooo thanks so much I bet thats what it was... not sure how i missed that step.
     
  5. Truman123

    Truman123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hammy is haveing his scrape. i cant get mine to fit inside the box. I have reamed out the holes. do you think i should let the bit go a bit deeper in the hole?
     
  6. mike01hu

    mike01hu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    166
    The rods need to go in almost all the way. Check the depth of the hole with a small rod and mark the rod, then check how far in your reamer goes, if not as far then dig deeper.:)
     
  7. Truman123

    Truman123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Bit didn't go in as far as rod as you mentioned i should do. dug deeper, then with some force put rod into hole. only to have the rod bust through the back! Thanks E3D for sending me a new one!
     

Share This Page