Z-Axis bed Level problem

Discussion in 'Calibration, Help, and Troubleshooting' started by Francesco, May 15, 2016.

  1. Francesco

    Francesco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    I have just unpacked the Factory Assembled BigBox and I had a problem

    After Loading Filament, I tried to Print the preloaded #3DBenchy# from SD card
    but I had problem in perform the Auto home and Level bed functions.

    when the bed begins to move upwards, it reach the Nozzle and continuing to push up
    forcing the motor.

    I tried many time but always with the same result.

    How can I solve this problem?

    Francesco
     
  2. R Design

    R Design Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    183
    First test would be to check the IR sensor (the little box behind the nozzle) is working.

    If you move something underneath it do you see a red LED light up on the sensor?

    If it does turn on then the next question is, when the bed moves up towards the nozzle, does the red LED turn on?

    (If it is not coming on that would explain why the bed continues to push against the nozzle.)
     
  3. Francesco

    Francesco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think the IR sensor is not working :-(

    I tried to move my hand underneath it and no red LED light.

    then I moved down the z axis to 100mm and I perform the ‘Auto home’
    and again: the bed move upwards, push up the Nozzle … and NO red led light on.

    How can I activate the IR sensor?
     
  4. R Design

    R Design Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    183
    I guess the first thing to check is that the wires for the IR sensor have not come loose during shipping.

    You need to check both ends.

    Section #21.5 on this page http://wiki.e3d-online.com/wiki/Big...lies:_Step_By_Step_Assembly_Process#IR_Sensor

    shows how it the wires should plug into the IR sensor board.

    And then in the Wiring Section #25 (choose the right one if you have a Pro or a Dual) you'll find information about how the IR sensor's wires connect to the Rumba board. Make sure that still connected and hasn't come loose!
     
  5. Francesco

    Francesco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I checked and the wires for the IR sensor are well connected at both ends.

    When I perform the ‘Auto home’ I see a red light from the sensor.

    Here a video to show the problem:


    I don’t no …
    The z-height of the Nozzle is lower of the level of the IR-Sensor-Bracket. Is this normal?
     
  6. R Design

    R Design Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    183
    Unfortunately the video is marked "private" and we can't see it.

    The IR sensor should be 1.5mm above the tip of the nozzle.

    In the "Printer Commissioning" part of the build manual you'll find (separate sections for Dual and for Pro) information about how the IR sensor is adjusted to 1.5mm above the bed by bringing the nozzle to the glass manually, placing a piece of belt (1.5mm thick) under the IR sensor and adjusting the height.

    I don't know how all this is communicated to people who receive pre-built BB!
     
    albert stouder likes this.
  7. Old_Tafr

    Old_Tafr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    75
    One thing I would say is that the red light only flashes for a fraction of a second and isn't very bright, this is in normal operation, after the flash the bed drops a few mm then rises again (I guess to within a fraction of a mm) ........before you commence printing.

    It's possible that the red light will stay on if the bed just hits the nozzle and continues to push upward..........before you cut the power that is !
     
  8. wfredette

    wfredette Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    25
    I know you've said you checked the wires for the Z end stop and found them well connected. I had a similar problem with an axis end stop when I first built my machine, and I found that the end stop connector on the Rumba was plugged in one set of pins over from where it was supposed to be. You might want to double check that using this photo.

    One other thing you might try (assuming you can do this on your 1.1 version) is to loosen the IR sensor and move it down (toward the bed). If it is working, that should trigger it earlier and make the bed further away from the nozzles when it homes. You could then adjust it from there. That's what I had to do with my dual, as the instructions for using a piece of belt to set the height of the sensor always gave me too much gap between the nozzles and bed when auto homing.
     
    Francesco likes this.
  9. R Design

    R Design Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    183
    I don't have the new X-carriage but, now I see the video, your IR sensor does sort look a bit high. Impossible to say without a clear view from the side. Easy to confirm with something 1.5mm thick!

    It's so light I can't imagine the IR assembly moving upwards during shipping: but perhaps the nozzle / hotend shifted down ?
     
  10. Francesco

    Francesco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks! the ‘Auto home’ and ‘Level bed’ step now work :)
    I moved the IR-sensor a little bit down and the IR-sensor flashes when the bad is approaching

    Now, for the testcase printing, I select the 3DBenchy.gcode from the SD Card but the printer does nothing.
     
  11. wfredette

    wfredette Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    25
    Do you have the nozzle and bed heated before running the gcode?
     
  12. Francesco

    Francesco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    After Calibrating The Filament,
    I selected the 3DBenchy.gcode from the SD Card and Push the knob
    with the temperatures at their required values.

    but nothing happens :-(
    On the info screen appears the label : mm extruded

    and if I press on knob, the screen now display the list :
    - Tune
    - Control
    - Print from SD
     
  13. R Design

    R Design Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    183
  14. Dr Jeep

    Dr Jeep Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    169
    @Francesco do you have anything plugged into the rumba USB ? I had this problem when either my Mac or an octopi was plugged in but not correctly configured. SD card prints just sat there.
     
  15. wfredette

    wfredette Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    25
    ^^ That. I would try unplugging your Octopi. There is a thread somewhere about the Raspberry Pi having the wrong image on its microSD card and the result is a non-responsive printer.
     
  16. Francesco

    Francesco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried to unplug the usb from the rumba board
    and again I selected the 3DBenchy.gcode from the SD Card
    but nothing happens as before

    Here is the video:
     
  17. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    Your box is not homed...
     
  18. Francesco

    Francesco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I selected Auto home before to activate the 3DBenchy.gcode
    but again nothing happens
     
  19. R Design

    R Design Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    183
    It is indeed odd that NOTHING happens at all.

    The Gcode for the benchy doesn't to anything extraordinary at the beginning and I've no idea what it might be getting "stuck" on.

    G90
    M82
    G92 E0
    G1 E-1.5000 F3000
    G1 Z0.248 F180
    ; layer 1, Z = 0.2475
    T0
    ; tool H0.250 W0.480
    ; skirt
    G1 X136.213 Y96.517 F4800
    G1 E0.0000 F900
    G92 E0
    G1 X136.215 Y96.514 E0.0002 F2250
    G1 X136.254 Y96.462 E0.0034
    G1 X136.256 Y96.459 E0.0036
    G1 X136.844 Y95.724 E0.0505
    G1 X136.847 Y95.721 E0.0507


    Anyone else?
     
  20. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    A terminal log would be helpful to see if the box reports anything why it does not move...
    Any chance you setup the OctoPi and connect it to get a log from the terminal when you home and want to print?
     

Share This Page