z axis skipping layers

Discussion in 'Calibration, Help, and Troubleshooting' started by lance, Sep 7, 2016.

  1. lance

    lance Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    9
    hey so ive noticed that some of my prints come out with thick outer wall lines and noticed that the parts produced with this defect have stunted growth, the come out of the printer significantly shorter than they are supposed to be. i think the z axis isnt moving or isnt moving enough between layers. any advice?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    Skipped steps or missed steps are often an issue of the stepper drivers. Did you tune you drivers to the correct values?
     
  3. lance

    lance Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    9
    no how do i do that?
     
  4. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
  5. lance

    lance Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    9
    so i checked them and they are all at 0.55v or 0.56v which is in the proper range. so i dont think that is the issue
     
  6. Jasons_BigBox

    Jasons_BigBox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    69
  7. mike01hu

    mike01hu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    166
    For the Z axis you may want to increase the voltage slightly to increase the current available for 2 motors. The Z motors have a low duty cycle unlike the X and Y motors so can manage more current without getting hot.
     
  8. Jasons_BigBox

    Jasons_BigBox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    69
    Wow it only took a minute ;o)

    I tried turning it up and it made things worse so I turned the voltage down to 0.45......

    Who was it used to say "Works for me" at the end of each episode? Was it Hunter?
     
  9. Oliver

    Oliver Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here, since i have the voltage down as well, i have no z issues anymore.
     

Share This Page