Z offset question

Discussion in 'Tool heads & ToolChanger' started by KHH, Nov 16, 2020.

  1. KHH

    KHH Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have scoured around a bit, and I am still not 100% sure on what I should be looking out for when configuring my Volcano Z-offset. I have 2 v6, and a volcano, and I have "dry-tested" setting the Z offset at the bottom of config.g, so the v6 are z-5, and the volcano are z-15, but I am not sure about the tpre macro, should that drop the same amount, or any amount greater than the G10 configured value? I see the v6's bed drops Z by 10mm, so I suppose for the volcano I should drop by 20mm to give ~5mm play?

    Is this right? Is there anything else I should consider, I am new to Duet, and feel completely lost with how to get these offsets safely set and tested, and then have no idea about configuring simplify3d how to do the tool changes / manage any saving Z, loading it from userspace stuff if needed.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Greg Holloway

    Greg Holloway Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    623
  3. KHH

    KHH Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi @Greg Holloway, that g-code did not work, it was switching to the tool before setting temps, and not waiting for warmup. so I changed a few things, mainly moving Tx down to below the set-temps, and also I added the hot-end to use.

    old Code
    Code:
    
    ;RESET Z NOW THAT THE PLATE IS HOT
    LAVOR:Marlin
    ;Generated with Cura_SteamEngine 4.3.0
    T0; <--- this should move down to below the M109 S200 line.
    M140 S60
    M190 S60
    M104 S200 T0
    M109 S200 T0
    ;RESET Z NOW THAT THE PLATE IS HOT
    
    Updated code
    Code:
    
    ;RESET Z NOW THAT THE PLATE IS HOT
    LAVOR:Marlin
    ;Generated with Cura_SteamEngine 4.3.0
    M140 S60
    M190 S60
    M104 S200 T0
    M109 S200 T0
    T0
    ;RESET Z NOW THAT THE PLATE IS HOT
     
  4. KHH

    KHH Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi again @Greg Holloway, any chance I could get the source used to generate that z offset calibration gcode? I need to apply it to my other hotends which are not v6 0.4mm.
     
  5. Greg Holloway

    Greg Holloway Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    623
    I didn't make it. It was written by someone else. You can put a comment on the guide and see if they respond.

    The offsets are set in the config.g file. They shouldn' be set anywhere else. The endstop is the datum and T0 is used as a reference point for the other tools. P2 in this config is a Volcano.

    upload_2020-11-21_13-5-33.png
     
  6. Rene

    Rene Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    16
    Actually, everything is referenced to an imaginary point that also happens to be in the same spot as the actuated Z-endstop knub because a clever man named Greg made the endstop offsets 0|0|0... :D
     
    Greg Holloway likes this.
  7. Paul Arden

    Paul Arden Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2019
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    57
    I like that in RRF3 I can do this:

    Code:
    ; Tool Offsets - All offsets are set relative to T0
    G10 P0 X23.00 Y41.00 Z-5.41
    G10 P1 X{tools[0].offsets[0] + 0.11} Y{tools[0].offsets[1] + 0.10} Z{tools[0].offsets[2] + 0.04}
    G10 P2 X{tools[0].offsets[0] + 0.15} Y{tools[0].offsets[1] + 0.05} Z{tools[0].offsets[2] + 0.17}
    G10 P3 X{tools[0].offsets[0] - 0.01} Y{tools[0].offsets[1] - 0.15} Z{tools[0].offsets[2] - 0.03}
    
    Since I am lazy and like being able to put the measurements I make after getting T0 right in directly without the maths.
     
  8. Rene

    Rene Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    16
    I see what you are doing and I like the RRF3 provides us with such possibilities, but what do you do, when P0 happens to get worked on?
     
    Akiross likes this.
  9. Paul Arden

    Paul Arden Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2019
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    57
    Good point, then of course all need to be remeasured. In practice I have found I end up needing to change them all, referenced to P0 more than other operations. If I come to updating a tool at a time (probably likely as things settle down) then you're right that would be a disadvantage.

    Of course I can just read out the values this generates prior to making changes to P0 if needed.
     
  10. Greg Holloway

    Greg Holloway Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    623
     
  11. Rene

    Rene Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    16
    fishing for compliments :cool:
     

Share This Page