SOLVED Zero X & Y question (Dual Hybrid)

Discussion in 'Build Help' started by gearmesh, Jun 13, 2016.

  1. gearmesh

    gearmesh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    13
    Zero X & Y question (Dual Hybrid)
    When I tell the printer home, isn't it supposed to go toward the 0,0 area? Mine finds the limits just fine and the moves toward the middle of the bed and stops there. It knows the X is not at 0, says it is a 38, I assume this is the defaults. I am reading section:
    http://wiki.e3d-online.com/wiki/Printer_Commissioning#.285.29_Zero_X_.26_Y
    but I don't see where I set the home position to 0,0 or do I need to?
    I want to proceed to
    (8) Dual Nozzle Alignment
    http://wiki.e3d-online.com/wiki/Printer_Commissioning#.288.29_Dual_Nozzle_Alignment

    I just want to be sure I am OK to proceed.
     
  2. gearmesh

    gearmesh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    13
    I made some changes and I am worse off. Now the printer thinks the 0.0 home is off the grid completely :(
     
  3. gearmesh

    gearmesh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    13
    Weird. I just re-powered it back on and it seems right again. OK. Moving on to get the difference between the two nozzles. Seems easy enough. I have them both set at the same height already.

    Go my numbers:
    X1 = 131.9
    X2 = 94.3
    Y1 = 8.4
    Y2 = 7.1
    Math...
    131.9-94.3 = 37.6
    8.4 - 7.1 = 1.3

    So I will set as
    M218 T1 X7.6 Y1.3
     
    #3 gearmesh, Jun 13, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2016
  4. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    Homing is a multi step process, first the machine homes Y, then X, then Z but for Z it has to move the sensor back above the bed otherwise it could not detect the bed. So it leaves the previously found 0,0 position.
    But that is all done by the one command "Auto home" or a G28.
    When finished the machine is not at 0,0,0 but that does not matter. If you wanna check your limits and that 0,0 is really 0,0 move the axes with the LCD to 0,0 and see where you nozzle is...
     

Share This Page